Date ArticleType
5/19/2010 Leadership
Leadership Springfield Graduates 33 Participants and Presents Distinguished Alumni Award to Mark Mahoney

Leadership Springfield Graduates 33 Participants and Presents Distinguished Alumni Award to Mark Mahoney

Leadership Springfield Graduates celebrate a year of leadership growth and development


Thirty-three members of the Leadership Springfield class of 2009-2010 have joined the ranks of alumni with the successful completion of the leadership training program.  Leadership Springfield, co-sponsored by The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce and the Junior League of Springfield, has been training community leaders since 1986 and is one of 500 community leadership institutes in the nation. 


Leadership Springfield is an eight month series of seminars in which participants gain leadership skills and in-depth exposure to critical issues affecting the Springfield area. Participants meet community leaders and decision makers who share their perspective on significant problems and opportunities. It is an opportunity to expose tomorrow’s finest leaders to the necessary knowledge, experiences, and most importantly, people.


Leadership Springfield Class of 2010

Members of the 2009-2010 Leadership Springfield Graduating class are: Tammi Barnes, Security Bank; Brent Barrow, WICS-TV NewsChannel 20 (ABC); Darrel Berry, Hanson Professional Services, Inc.; Jennifer Bettis, Sacred Heart-Griffin High School; Josh Britton, Springfield Business Journal; Kate Cohorst, Junior League of Springfield, Inc.; Aprill Edwards, AT&T Technical Solutions Company; Jenna Fox, Mid-West Family Broadcasting; Lynn Freitag, Sangamon County Medical Society; Jean Garner, CMW & Associates, Inc.; Penny Irwin, The Horace Mann Companies; Diane Johnson, Illinois National Bank; Melinda Lawson, The Horace Mann Companies; Candice Lovelace, United Community Bank; Christopher Nelson, Kerber, Eck & Braeckel LLP; Frederick Nettles, Living Word Fellowship Ministries; Albert Niemerg, Cummins Engineering Corporation; Adam Range, The Horace Mann Companies; Laura Sakach, Crawford, Murphy & Tilly, Inc.; Aaron Sapp, Marine Bank; William Sheehan, Bank of Springfield; Kyle Sitko, CEFCU; Erica Smith, St. John's Hospital; Drew Snyder, Memorial Health System; Molly Sorrell, St. John’s Hospital; Juliana Stapleton, Bank of Springfield; Melissa Steward, Giffin, Winning, Cohen & Bodewes, P.C.;  Allyson Strauch, Robert Morris University; Jennifer Sublett, Sangamon County Community Foundation; Tyra Taylor, Lincoln Land Community College; Angela Tippey, S.I.U. School of Medicine; Lynn Whalen, Lincoln Land Community College; and Robert Wilbern, Sikich LLP.


Leadership Springfield Distinguished Alumni Award

Alderman Mark Mahoney is this year's recipient of the Leadership Springfield Distinguished Alumni Award.  This award goes to a Leadership Springfield graduate that has established themselves as a community leader.  Mark Mahoney works in the Office of the Speaker of the House Issues Development Unit and is the Ward 6 Alderman for the City of Springfield.  The individual who nominated Mahoney stated “he is the finest kind of leader, one who leads by example and deed, rather than by word and rhetoric.  Most importantly, the greatest testament to his leadership abilities is that he inspires those around him to give their all and do their best.”  Mahoney graduated from Leadership Springfield in 2002. 






Leadership Springfield is co-sponsored by The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce and Junior League of Springfield


The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce is focused on enhancing the business climate and promoting and stimulating economic development in Sangamon County for the benefit of its members and the community. The Quantum Growth Partnership (Q5) is an initiative by The Chamber, local governments, labor and business leaders, to build wealth, unity and prosperity in Sangamon County, with 4,500 new, retained and expanded jobs and $2.6 billion in wealth by 2012. For more information about The Chamber and Q5, visit